Revealed: our top local council recyclers

Posted March 30, 2017

From the northern coast of East Arnhem land to Burnie in Tasmania, over thirty local councils from around Australia are in the running for a Top Recycler award in this year’s MobileMuster Local Government Awards.* The top recyclers will be announced at the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) National General Assembly in Canberra in June 2017.

MobileMuster, Australia’s only government accredited, not-for-profit mobile phone recycling program has been working with local councils for over 10 years to encourage the community to recycle. The awards recognise the successful partnerships the program has developed to make recycling accessible and community-friendly.

MobileMuster partners with 360 councils around Australia to help divert thousands of tonnes of non-renewable resources out of landfill each year, and back into the manufacture of new products. “Councils play an important role in offering convenient public  drop-off points and educating the community on how to recycle responsibly.  Over the last 10 years local councils have collected almost 30 tonnes of mobile phone components including approximately 158,000 handsets and 210,000 batteries,” says Spyro Kalos, Recycling Manager, MobileMuster.


About the Awards

The awards are based on the council who has collected the most mobile phone components for recycling between 1 May 2016 and 30 April 2017. The Top Collector in each state and territory as well as a Top Collector Per Capita will be announced at the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) National General Assembly in Canberra in June 2017.

*The current top local council collectors in each state and territory  based on collections received between 1 May 2016 and 28 February 2017. Councils have until the end of April to organise their final collections so they can be counted towards their total collections.

Award Category

Current Top Collectors (in alphabetical order)

New South Wales

City of Sydney

Hornsby Shire Council

Lake Macquarie City Council

Lismore City Council

Randwick City Council

Northern Territory

Alice Springs Town Council

East Arnhem Shire Council

West Arnhem Regional Council


Brisbane City Council

Central Highlands Regional Council

Redland City Council

Scenic Rim Regional Council

Western Downs Regional Council

Western Australia

City of Bunbury

City of Cockburn

City of Fremantle

City of South Perth

City of Stirling

South Australia

City of Charles Stuart

City of Mount Gambier

City of Onkaparinga

City of Port Adelaide Enfield

City of Tea Tree Gully


Burnie City Council

Glenorchy City Council

Launceston City Council

West Tamar Council


City of Monash

Latrobe City Council

Moonee Valley City Council

Moreland City Council

Nillumbik Shire Council


If your council doesn’t currently participate in the MobileMuster program and is interested in getting involved visit the council pages on our website or call 02 8920 3555. Once registered MobileMuster can provide you with free collection units tailored for admin centres, libraries and waste transfer sites, plus resources to promote the program. Positive partnerships with local councils are a key factor in MobileMuster’s success.

Image credit: A collection of the councils who host MobileMuster collection units.