Get the latest news on the MobileMuster program.
February 4, 2022

Local Council Awards 2022

Race to the “recycling” finish line

With three months to go, Local Councils still have plenty of time to increase their recycling efforts to be included as one of the country’s top MobileMuster collectors. 

MobileMuster has been partnering with local councils for over 15 years to help educate their residents and businesses about the benefits of recycling and make it easily accessible for their communities. 

The local government winners reflect the strong commitment of councils to continually deliver innovative and effective sustainability programs. Mobilemuster is proud to showcase their top council recyclers at the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) National General Assembly in Canberra in June 2022, providing the recognition they deserve. 

The current top collectors listed below in each state (in alphabetical order) are based on collections to date. Councils have until the 15th April to organise their final collections so they can be included in their total annual collections. 

New South Wales
Blue Mountains City Council
City of Sydney
Hornsby Shire Council
Liverpool City Council
Albury City Council
MidCoast Council Tareen
Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
Randwick City Council
Tamworth Regional Council
Willoughby City Council
Northern Territory
Darwin City Council
East Arnhem Shire Council
Brisbane City Council
Bundaberg Regional Council
Cairns Regional Council
Hinchinbrook Shire Council
Logan City Council
Redland City Council
Scenic Rim Regional Council
Somerset Regional Council
Sunshine Coast Council
Townsville City Council
South Australia
Adelaide Hills Council
Adelaide Hills Region Waste Management Authority
Alexandrina Council
Campbelltown City Council
City of Burnside
City of Charles Sturt
City of Marion
City of Mitcham
City of Onkaparinga
City of Port Adelaide Enfield
Break O'Day Council
Burnie City Council
Glenorchy City Council
Kingborough Council
Latrobe Council
Launceston City Council
Ballarat City Council
Campaspe Shire Council
City of Monash
Glenelg Shire Council
Manningham City Council
Mitchell Shire Council
Moira Shire Council
Moonee Valley City Council
Nillumbik Shire Council
Yarra City Council
Western Australia
City of Bayswater
City of Bunbury
City of Canning-Cannington
City of Cockburn
City of Fremantle
City of South Perth
City of Stirling
City of Swan
Mindarie Regional Council
Western Metropolitan Regional Council


About the Awards

The awards are based on local councils who have collected the most mobile phone components for recycling between 1 May 2021 and 30 April 2022. The Top Collector in each state and territory as well as a Top Collector Per Capita will be announced at the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) National General Assembly in Canberra in June 2022. 

Our Previous Winners