Get the latest news on the MobileMuster program.
May 23, 2018

Who will be our top recyclers?

Council partners continue to increase collections and find innovative ways to support MobileMuster and encourage the community to recycle. This year they collected over 4.6 tonnes of mobile phone components for recycling.

MobileMuster has been partnering with local councils for over 12 years to make recycling accessible and community-friendly. It works with 370 councils around Australia to help divert thousands of tonnes of non-renewable resources out of landfill and back into the manufacture of new products.

“Councils play an important role in offering convenient public drop-off points and educating the community on how to recycle responsibly. Over the last 12 years local councils have collected almost 40 tonnes of mobile phone components,” says Spyro Kalos, Recycling Manager, MobileMuster.

Positive partnerships with local councils are a key factor in the success of the government accredited mobile phone recycling program. Each year MobileMuster attracts more local government partners who continue to increase collections for the program.

If your council doesn’t currently participate in the MobileMuster program and is interested in getting involved you can register online or call 02 8920 3555. Once registered MobileMuster can provide you with free collection units tailored for admin centres, libraries and waste transfer sites, plus resources to promote the program.

About the Awards

Councils have until the end of April to organise their final collections so they can be counted towards their total collections.

The awards are based on the council who has collected the most mobile phone components for recycling between 1 May 2017 and 30 April 2018. The Top Collector in each state and territory as well as a Top Collector Per Capita will be announced at the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) National General Assembly in Canberra in June 2018.

The councils in the running for the top collector awards in each state and territory (in alphabetical order).

Top Per Capita

  • Alexandrina Council
  • District Council of Barunga West
  • District Council of Kimba
  • Shire of Wyalkatchem
  • Shire of York

New South Wales

  • Hornsby Shire Council
  • Lake Macquarie City Council
  • Newcastle City Council
  • Randwick City Council
  • Wingecarribee Shire Council

Northern Territory

  • Alice Springs Town Council
  • City of Palmerston
  • Darwin City Council
  • East Arnhem Regional Council
  • West Arnhem Regional Council


  • Brisbane City Council
  • Bundaberg Regional Council
  • Cairns Regional Council
  • Redland City Council
  • Townsville City Council

South Australia

  • Alexandrina Council
  • City of Charles Sturt
  • City of Mitcham
  • City of Onkaparinga
  • City of Tea Tree Gully


  • Break O’Day Council
  • Glenorchy City Council
  • Kingborough Council
  • Launceston City Council
  • Waratah Wynyard Council


  • City of Monash
  • Latrobe City Council
  • Moonee Valley City Council
  • Nillumbik Shire Council
  • Yarra City Council

Western Australia

  • City of Albany
  • City of Bunbury
  • City of Cockburn
  • City of Stirling
  • Shire of Harvey